Book Tickets

Showman's Caravan

Information and images provided by the granddaughter of Minnie Delino, the last of the Barry family to operate Barry’s Amusements in Bangor.

Showmans living Carvan at the Ulster Transport Museum

Barry’s Amusements opened in 1927 by Mrs Louisa Barry on Bangor seafront on the site of the former Grand Hotel (now the Marine Court Hotel). By the 1950s, her daughter Minnie had taken over the running of the business and was famous for her very large bunch of keys which she used to open the various slot machines.

This vehicle belonged to the Barry Fun Fair family, who toured Ireland in the first half of the 20th century. They owned extensive fixed rides at Portrush in County Antrim and Bangor in County Down where this vehicle was based.

Chipperfield family with Minnie on the right
Chipperfield family with Minnie on the right, Image courtesy of the Chipperfield family

The caravan consists of three rooms internally; kitchen, living room and bedroom, all panelled in Spanish mahogany. It was built by Spence & Johnstone Ltd around 1925.

Showman's Living Caravan Interior
Showman's Living Caravan Interior, Image courtesy of the Chipperfield family

The caravan has been subject to an extensive conservation and restoration project carried out by our team over a period of ten years. As well as having new tyres and a new canvas fitted to the roof, it was hand painted by our craftsmen including the Barry’s crest on the doors.

Showman's Caravan Crest

Explore the inside of the caravan using the 3D scan below!